When a loved is facing a terminal illness, it’s more than a sad time for the family, it’s also a physically and emotionally draining time.

Danville can help. We work well with Home Health Care professionals and Hospice, filling in the gaps when no one else can be there. Even if your loved one has moved to Assisted Living, Danville can help them stay there longer rather than moving them to a more expensive level of care. Danville assists many seniors living in assisted living facilities in this way.

Sometimes as a family caregiver, you need to get away for a short time to refuel your energy and get a different perspective. A rested and healthy caregiver is what you want to be, and we can help get you get there. Danville has professional and caring helpers to care for your loved one. Our help is on your terms anywhere from one hour to 24 hours a day.

Danville Support Staff is available for services in the Salt Lake County, Park City, Summit, Wasatch and we are now serving Davis and Weber County. Call us today at 801-363-1521 for more information and a preliminary consultation.

Given that we do assist families in these dire situations, we also see how grief can stymie a person, lead to depression and temporary debilitation.

In 1969, psychiatrist Elisabeth Kübler-Ross introduced what became known as the “five stages of grief.” These stages of grief were based on her studies of the feelings of patients facing terminal illness, but many people have generalized them to other types of negative life changes and losses, such as the death of a loved one or a break-up.

The five stages of grief:

  • Denial: “This can’t be happening to me.”
  • Anger: “Why is this happening? Who is to blame?”
  • Bargaining: “Make this not happen, and in return I will ____.”
  • Depression: “I’m too sad to do anything.”
  • Acceptance: “I’m at peace with what happened.”

Kübler-Ross herself never intended for these stages to be a rigid framework that applies to everyone who mourns. In her last book before her death in 2004, she said of the five stages of grief: “They were never meant to help tuck messy emotions into neat packages. They are responses to loss that many people have, but there is not a typical response to loss, as there is no typical loss. Our grieving is as individual as our lives.”

Are you experiencing any of these signs? Is a recently (or about to be) widowed parent?

Aging parents are often resistant to asking for help. It’s usually up to you, the adult child, to call Danville to arrange for these essential services.

Give us a call and help your parent, your family and help yourself.